Working on Not Working

Life Banner

For starters, life gets in the way. At least that’s the excuse I’m going with. It’s so easy to sit back and say “I work 50 hours a week, when am I supposed to find time to send out query letters and submissions?” Yea so that’s the excuse I’m sticking with. I know. I know I sit around for about 6 hours after I get home from work doing next to nothing socializing with friends online. But I’ve come to realize, I kind of need that. It’s an important part of my routine. Thought possibly to much of a good thing. So somewhere I need to find a balance.

I think I worry that if I disappear for a day or two, internet friend (clearly having ADHD) will move on to other people. I know this is not the case. I’ve been gone before. So it’s just some combination of excuse and lethargy.

Submissions Title Graphic

I have my research, my 5 magazines I looked up earlier in the week. Just gotta put it out there. I feel like I need a better system. I way of organizing things that also acts to motivate me. Something physical, visual and ever present – not just some spread sheet on the computer.Speaking of which, I have no idea where my spreadsheet is. I should find that, I’m sure it made it to this computer.

Well I spent ten minutes looking around, I don’t see it. It’s probably on the external drive at home. But honestly it never did much to motivate me.

Anyone out there have a sample of their submissions in the form of a spreadsheet, chart or other format?

So I guess it’s time to really look at what’s a valid excuse and what’s just waisted time. Hell I’m pulling off these blogs from work itself, so who knows maybe I can send out submissions as well.

Tonight when I get home I’ll pull out the binder of poems for submissions. Gonna start cleaning up the apartment, by the time Tony moves out it should be cleanish again. I should be able to pull of sending out one submission a night. Hell I’ve got enough material to pull that off for at least a few weeks straight.

Starting February that’s my goal. But for now I just want to get organized, that’s never been my strong point. I need lessons.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

