Excuses & Script Frenzy

Ptop Script Frenzy banner

I know I know, I said originally I’d do a new Path to Publication video every 2 weeks.. and I think I managed to do three of them on that schedule.

Then the world too over with it’s whole – real worldieness.

bastard.

So yea, I mean this is how it is as a writer, or any kind of creative person. You have this idealistic creative dreamer side of “what ifs” and “ones days” and at the end of the month you have to pay the bills. So there is a delicate balance of making a living without falling to the Golden handcuffs.

I feel like I’ve maybe I’ve found a trap in the jobs I take. For almost a decade now I’ve worked in Film and TV production, and it’s fun, often inspiring and easy going (for the most part). But there in lies the rub, I feel like I am doing creative things, but for other people and thus maybe I slack on my own creative process even more. But I’m content, happy, at ease (for the most part).

I wrote my novel while I was working at a horrible customer service job (for the most part). It was, in a sense a rebellion against the job. So am I slacking now because I’m comfortable? Or am I really working 50 hours a week and need to use my free time to just veg out.

Your Ad Here

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Excuses & Script Frenzy”

  1. Jason Rakowski Says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Jason Rakowski

  2. porchpastor Says:

    Good to have you back Sam! For a lurker like myself, your videos are my bread and butter… wait, that sounded kinda creepy. Oh well.

    Anyway, I’m a late 20’s newspaper/magazine article writer (who pastor’s too), and I’d love to write about either one (or both… there’s some definite cross over in my experience). Anyway, I’m willing if you are!

  3. tfxoasis Says:

    You know my participation, Sam. I’m on board.

  4. shimmer_of_gold Says:

    Sam, i saw a couple of your posts before, and haven’t had time to explore your work to the depth i’d like.
    i heard what you said about comfortable.
    remember that “stay hungry” attitude.

Leave a Reply

