Duck, Duck, Duck, Goose

Submissions Title Graphic

I’ve finally gotten off my ass and started sending out query letters again, about 16 so far and it’s been a lot and a lot of this:

Sorry, I’m not the right agent for this one. Thanks for asking, though, and good luck publishing your work.

and

Dear Author:

Thank you so much for sending the Nelson Literary Agency your query.

We’d like to apologize for the impersonal nature of this standard rejection letter. Rest assured that we do read every query letter carefully and, unfortunately, this project is not right for us.

Because this business is so subjective and opinions vary widely, we recommend that you pursue other agents. After all, it just takes one “yes” to find the right match.

Good luck with all your publishing endeavors.


But then sometimes, a door opens. (sigh of slight relief).

Dear Mr. Proof,

Thank you for thinking of me. I’d be happy to see your first severeal
chapters. Would you please send by regular mail? I look forward to the
read.

So this weekend I’ll be sending out the first several chapters of my novel. Any guess as to how many chapters several is I don’t know. But since my chapters tend to run short, I’m thinking the first 50 some pages give or take.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Duck, Duck, Duck, Goose”

  1. Erin Says:

    OMG SAM! That sounds really promising!!!! Check your facebook… I had a dream about Gone in a bookstore last night and on your wall I described the dream in detail.

    I am SOOOOOO happy for you. Wow, like this is amazing… they said “several” chapters.

    ok… it’s not time to get excited yet

    why is it so hard not to get excited?????

Leave a Reply

