Fade In

Ptop Script Frenzy banner

So Script Frenzy is coming in 2 hours, well even less than that. I’ve made a point to not actually write a single thing. I know people have been already outlining things, writing character descriptions things like that. but I really want to see what can be done in a month. In All honesty I’m counting on a somewhat quick then stalled start.

I’m going to start with writing a rough concept. My first day will not even be a page of work. I’m planning on 3 sentences to sum up the story. I haven’t even begun to think about them. I know the movie I want to write, don’t get me wrong. I’ve been thinking about it for a while and thankfully the video watching community was on the same track as me with the Sci-Fi genre closely followed by action/adventure.

And so it goes come midnight I’ll be writing a concept my friend Zack and I came up with Lobster Wars. well, Lobster Vaws! cause everything is better in a German accent. That and there’s some show about lobster fishers with the same name. But seriously… what do you want to see people opening lobster cages or Giant Fucking Robotic Lobsters fighting Mutant Lobsters!

I think we all know the right choice.

Lobster Dogs

Seriously.

Oh yea I started a blog devoted to the concept at http://lobstervaws.wordpress.com
There’s a bunch more pictures and more to come. I’ll be talking about the creation process here and then posting things like chunks of text and pictures in that blog. So anyone not so interested in the writing side of things, can just go watch that section for awesome lobster action!

anyway back to the plan of attack for Script Frenzy. So with the goal of 100 pages, 25 pages a week, 3.33 pages a day… or something. Here’s my plan of attack for the first week.

Week 1

  • Step 1 – three sentences to explain the beginning, climax and end of the story
  • Step 2 – write a short 2 to 3 pages story in normal prose to explore the story further, following loosely the hero’s journey concept.
  • Step 3- break previous writing in to scenes and format in Final Draft

and that’s basically it. I’m sort of not counting on getting a lot of writing done until this weekend, and then just Friday night and primarily Saturday where I’ll be hosting a write out at Solar de Cahuenga in Hollywood from 3 to 6pm for anyone local.

So that’s phase one of my script Frenzy plan of attack.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

