Good Morning, is it time to be rejected yet?

Yep, there’s nothing like waking up, rushing to work and checking your email to see the familiar subject line sitting in your in box.

RE: Query Letter – ‘Gone’ A Novel By Sam Proof

It’s so stoic and innocent. But I know as a cold mailing it’s 98% rejection waiting to happen. So here goes:

Thank you for your inquiry, however, I don’t feel we are the best agency for your work.  Good luck in your publishing efforts.

The Angela Rinaldi Literary Agency

And that’s how it goes. almost all cold queries will be rejected; and I don’t blame them. I’ve been on the other side working for various poetry magazine, getting stacks and stacks of horrible poems. And even if they were horrible, if they didn’t blow me away, catch me at the right moment, instinctively attach to some part of my soul they were done in two lines

So that’s that, I open my spreadsheet program and write down the date and a big old ‘NO’ in the response column and move along.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Good Morning, is it time to be rejected yet?”

  1. John Says:

    Maybe you need to make your calls less cold.

    I think you need to network more. Get to know people, and have other people know you too. The improv thing is awesome for the acting… You need to find a parallel for writing and literature.

    And also… all publishing houses are businesses. They want something of quality, but they also want something they can sell. If you can demonstrate how your work is a good business prospect it might be easier to sell. You need a way of showing people the audience you have the interwebz.

  2. kitty Says:

    Hey… I just wanted to say that I’ve been lurking around your youtube and this blog for a while now. I love it.

    Please visit my blog http://kittyism-kittyismis.blogspot.com for a little surprise… Okay, it’s the Arte y Pico award.

Leave a Reply

