Writing for Reality

Alright folks what’s shaking?

It’s good to be back. I’ve got a new vim, a new viger and a new video up for PtoP. I wanted to talk a little more about some of the things I was saying in the video. For starters it’s probably not too hard to figure out what show I’m working on. But I feel I’ve got a tentative grasp on the position so I’ve avoided saying anything in the the more recent video or in this blog, until I’m really cemented in the job. (or have quit in a rage of arm flailing furry, cause I’ve “made it in this town” or some such cliche).

But I did want to talk really quick about writing for a reality TV. People are seemingly shocked whenever I tell them I’m a writer for a reality TV show, or that such a position exists. Well the truth is the term “writer” doesn’t mean we’re just making stuff up and having people act it out. And if the film industry didn’t already have “editors” we might just be called that. Cause really that’s what the main focus of the job demands. We edit the reality into a nice tight 22 minute package.

Please feel free to ask any questions about it and I’ll answer them as quickly as I can.

If you haven’t already check out the new video here:

Sign up for a free account at http://samproof.ning.com and join the group for Path to Publication at http://samproof.ning.com/group/Ptop you can share links to useful writing sites, your own work, and ask other writers questions.

And don’t forget next month nanowrimo is coming up! Who’s in?

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Writing for Reality”

  1. dianecurran Says:

    I may well take you up on your offer to answer questions about reality TV as my nano novel will be about a reality TV show in a small country town.

Leave a Reply

