Nanowrimo The HalfWay Mark

Hey folks,

So Novemeber is half over.

Please feel free to run about the room, arms flailing over your head yelling “why why why, I’ve done nothing.. nothing!!”

If you’re keeping on pace you’re at 25,000 words. Are you?

Let me just say this, congrats that’s awesome. Kick it up a notch tomorrow. You’re clearly being too east on yourself and need to push even further.

Are you one of the 76% that have already fallen behind? It’s ok. You can still do it, Maybe it’s time to reschedule. You can do this. In the mid part of Nanowrimo 2007 I tucked myself away for the weekend and pulled 16,000 words out of my ass over 2 writing sessions and several hours.

Don’t go crazy, you don’t have to attempt to do what I did. I was pulling the weekend warrior gig, and I only hand the weekends to write in the first place. Consequntly I burned out after that marathon session and barely came back to the project at all.

So figure out how many words you have left, and re-calculate. divide it up over the remaineder of the days and adjust how much time you’re going to spend writing every day.

And then push yourself harder. If you’re finding you need to write an average of 3000 words a day now, make it 3500. Push yourself to get ahead! You can do it.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Nanowrimo The HalfWay Mark”

  1. C.J. Harley Says:

    Surprisingly enough I am right on target. It took three days of writting 3000 words plus and a few days in between when my heart wasn’t in it, but I made it.

    Now that I have reached the hump, it’s all downhill from here. Or so I hope.

  2. Buckshot George Says:

    I’m a little below par and I’m feeling that second wind of week 3 that hit me yesterday. I think I’m think I’m gunna make it. I’m a little disappointed that very few of my buddies that I recruited are keeping pace.

Leave a Reply

